On Cell Phone Forums
  1. #1
    Pat Rigley
    Pat Rigley is offline
    Newbie

    Posts
    2
    Is it possible to have two cell phones share the same number? Not to use at the same time but as a back-up phone, or one you keep specifically in your car? Is there a technological reason for this, or policy? Just curious, asked a couple of friends and got nothing but blank looks.


    See More: Two phones, one number




  2. #2
    Bourn Identity
    Bourn Identity is offline
    Cellular Superman
    Bourn Identity's Avatar

    Location
    Dallas, TX.
    Posts
    1,087 - liked 67 times

    I actually have two phones that I switch from back and forth, V635 and RAZR. If you have a service that uses a sim card it is really easy.



  3. #3
    Gentleman
    Gentleman is offline
    Junior Member

    Location
    Norfolk
    Posts
    20 - liked 1 times

    2 phones & 1 line?

    Quote Originally Posted by cseabourn
    I actually have two phones that I switch from back and forth, V635 and RAZR. If you have a service that uses a sim card it is really easy.
    Hey CSeabourn, could you explain that with the SIM card please? I've got almost zero experience with cell phones and SIM cards. I was under the impression you could only have one line on one phone, and to switch to another phone you'd have to call and move the number to the new ESN, since digital IDs usually only point to one remote ESN? I'm not looking to second guess you, I'm looking for an education
    Troy



  4. #4
    bossdragon
    bossdragon is offline
    Daderator
    bossdragon's Avatar

    Cell Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S5 16GB Charcoal Black
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Location
    S. Dakota
    Posts
    2,054 - liked 90 times
    Blog Entries
    1

    What he is saying, is if you have somebody like Cingular or any GSM service provider, their phone's come with Sim's cards that carry the information of the person. I.E. their number, contact's, etc.

    When you upgrade your phone, all you have to do is remove the Sims Card from the old phone and put it in the new phone, and your new phone will start working right away without programming.

    Verizon on the other hand is run under CDMA technology, and therefore requires programming of every phone before you can use it. Once it's programmed, that phone number is only for that phone, and that phone only, unless you buy a new phone and get the old phone deactivated, and the program the new phone with your old number.

    If, like Gentleman said, you do have GSM, you can get two phones and switch the Sim's card from one to the other, and use either phone. But, only one phone can be used at a time, depending of course which phone has the Sim's card in it.

    If you don't know whether you have GSM or CDMA, you can either google it to find out, call your provider, or post it here and somebody will tell you.
    You are CRUNCHY, and taste good with Ketchup!!


    Quote Originally Posted by jeaniesing
    "flopped"? wowsie Boss... your's must be way different than my cheapie thing,,, mine has never flopped...
    MY PHONES
    iPhone 6 & 6S - Samsung Galaxy S6 & S7 Edge
    Verizon Wireless

    Super Moderator



  5. #5
    Gentleman
    Gentleman is offline
    Junior Member

    Location
    Norfolk
    Posts
    20 - liked 1 times

    Thanks BossDragon. You nailed it on the head for me, 99% of the phones I've messed with have been Verizon (professionally) and SunCom(past tense). I was not aware that you could do the equivalent of a Verizon ESN change just by swapping a SIM card. Pretty cool stuff!



  6. #6
    Pat Rigley
    Pat Rigley is offline
    Newbie

    Posts
    2

    Then my next question is, can you dupe a sim card? Giving you two phones without the trouble of switching out the one card (not to mention the possibility of damaging at some point).



  7. #7
    roberts1953
    roberts1953 is offline
    Phone Addict

    Posts
    405 - liked 14 times

    Quote Originally Posted by Pat Rigley
    Then my next question is, can you dupe a sim card? Giving you two phones without the trouble of switching out the one card (not to mention the possibility of damaging at some point).
    I'm going to guess no to this. Because you would be using two phones at once but only paying for one service. I will go farther out on a limb and say even if you could it would be very illegal. Sort of like cloning a ESN from a CDMA or TDMA phone. Basically stealing. Bad news.
    If you need the phone as backup, just switch the SIM. If you need an emergency phone, there are very good prepaid options for $30/year with coverage everywhere.

    BTW, you can do an ESN swap with CDMA Verizon phones for free online. Many other providers will let you change CDMA phones you already own for free by calling customer service.
    Last edited by roberts1953; 03-24-2006 at 01:14 AM.



  8. #8
    Gentleman
    Gentleman is offline
    Junior Member

    Location
    Norfolk
    Posts
    20 - liked 1 times

    Re: Two phones, one number

    Quote Originally Posted by roberts1953
    I'm going to guess no to this. Because you would be using two phones at once but only paying for one service. I will go farther out on a limb and say even if you could it would be very illegal. Sort of like cloning a ESN from a CDMA or TDMA phone. Basically stealing. Bad news.
    If you need the phone as backup, just switch the SIM. If you need an emergency phone, there are very good prepaid options for $30/year with coverage everywhere.

    BTW, you can do an ESN swap with CDMA Verizon phones for free online. Many other providers will let you change CDMA phones you already own for free by calling customer service.
    Hey Roberts, can you provide that link? I went through and Googled a few options and I was not able to come up with a good link.

    Thanks



  9. #9
    roberts1953
    roberts1953 is offline
    Phone Addict

    Posts
    405 - liked 14 times

    Re: Two phones, one number

    If you are referring to the Verizon online ESN swap, log into your account online. Go to "profile", then "activate phone". This will allow you to do the ESN Swap online for free. You can also call Verizon and do it, but they will charge $15. After you swap the ESN's you will need to do a *228 update for the new phone. The swap should be effective very shortly.

    If you were asking for somethings else, please specify, and ignore my ramblings.



  10. #10
    roberts1953
    roberts1953 is offline
    Phone Addict

    Posts
    405 - liked 14 times

    Re: Two phones, one number

    After re-reading I think you were asking about switching SIMs, weren't you.
    I will try to keep this as basic as possible, and some things will be left out. If you would like something more in detail, just ask and someone in this forum can probably explain.

    Basically, there are a few different technologies out their. I wont get into TDMA or AMPS.

    Nextel uses IDEN

    Verizon, Sprint, Alltel, US Cellular, and others use CDMA. The phones have an ESN and the phone number is programmed into the phone. The phone must be reprogrammed to change the Phone number. It is unusual to be able to use a CDMA phone from one provider with a different CDMA provide. Most CDMA providers have a list of ESN's for THEIR phone that they will activate for THEIR service. Meaning, even if the phone is unlocked and can be reprogrammed, they still wont activate it if it is from another provider. For example, Verizon wont activate a Sprint phone.

    Cingular, Tmobile, Unicel, Edge, and others use GSM. The beauty of GSM is that all of the phones have a SIM card in the phone that stores the account info and phone number. The SIM is a postage stamp sized card under the battery that you can remove and put in other GSM phones and make and receive calls. There are a couple of things to consider about GSM phones. GSM phones are usually "branded" with a service provider, and "locked" to that service provider. For example if a phone is branded "cingular" and is locked to cingular then it will only accept SIMs from Cingular. You can't put the Cingular SIM into a tmobile phone and expect it to work. But you can put your cingular SIM into any other Cingular phone and it will work great. This is good if you like your plan but want to switch phones because it is broken or you want to upgrade you handset. You can buy an "unbranded" and "unlocked" phone off ebay and it will accept any SIM. You can also unlock a "locked" phone and it will then accept any SIM. For example, you could unlock the Tmobile branded phone and it would accept the Cingular SIM. Not to get too complicated, but GSM phones use different frequencies all over the world. If you will be using a GSM phone in the US make sure it uses 850 and 1900 bands. Some GSM phones are missing one or both bands. Do your research before you buy the phone to make sure it is compatable. Otherwise you will get limited coverage, or have a very cool paperwight. Swapping SIMs allows you to make phone calls. After swapping the SIM into a new GSM phone you may also need to configure the phone for Web, text message, and MMS. This can usually be done for free, over the air, from your service providers website.
    Last edited by roberts1953; 03-29-2006 at 01:26 PM.



  • Similar Threads







  • Quick Reply Quick Reply

    If you are already a member, please login above.