NOTE: Before you factory reset your smartphone, you can visit this thread for a guide on how to back up data, and this link for a guide on restoring data.

Soft Reset Using Hardware Keys:

NOTE: A soft reset is designed to simulate battery removal, and it can be useful when the phone is frozen or unresponsive. This process will not affect your data.

  1. Press and hold “Power” and “Volume down” at the same time
  2. Keep the buttons pressed until the phone reboots (should take up to 45 seconds)

Hard Reset

NOTE: Hard resetting your smartphone will delete all user data located on the phone’s internal memory, including contacts, media files, downloaded content, apps, ringtones etc. In addition, all settings will be restored to factory values.

Hard Reset via Settings:

  1. Open the apps drawer
  2. Launch “Settings
  3. Go to “Cloud and accounts
  4. Tap “Backup and restore”
  5. Optionally, turn “Back up my data” and “Restore” On or Off
  6. Return to “Settings” and access “General Management
  7. Tap “Reset” > “Factory data reset
  8. Tap “Reset device
  9. If your phone is protected by a lock screen, enter your PIN / password to proceed
  10. Tap “Continue” > “Delete all” to confirm

Hard Reset via Hardware Buttons:

NOTE: If your phone crashes, freezes, is unresponsive or otherwise it prevents you from resetting it via settings, alternatively you can try resetting the phone using hardware buttons.

  1. Make sure your phone is turned off
  2. Next, press and hold “Volume Up” and “Home” at the same time, then press “Power” as well
  3. At the “Android” logo, release all buttons and wait for 30-60 seconds to gain access to Android Recovery
  4. From Recovery, press “volume down” repeatedly to navigate to and highlight “wipe data / factory reset
  5. Press “Power” to select the highlighted option
  6. Press “Volume down” to highlight “Yes – delete all user data” and press “Power
  7. Wait for the phone to reset. Once done, highlight “Reboot system now” and press “Power” to confirm

Reset Network Settings:

NOTE: Resetting network settings will delete connection data including Bluetooth and Wi-Fi networks. Additionally, data restrictive settings, background data sync, and network selection mode will be set to default.

  1. Open the apps drawer
  2. Access “General Management
  3. Tap “Reset
  4. Tap “Reset network settings” > “Reset settings
  5. If necessary, enter your PIN to proceed
  6. Tap “Reset settings” to confirm

See More: Samsung Galaxy J7 (2017): Soft/Hard Reset Phone; Reset Network Settings