WARNING! When you factory reset your device, all your personal data stored on the phone’s internal memory will be deleted. This includes apps, downloaded content, ringtones, contacts, media files etc. Furthermore, all settings will be restored to factory values.

NOTE: For a guide on how to back up and restore data before the reset, you can visit this thread. Data stored on the SD and SIM cards will not be affected by the factory reset.

Factory Reset via Settings:

  1. Open “Settings
  2. Scroll to and tap “Cloud and accounts
  3. Tap “Backup and reset
  4. Optionally, enable or disable “Back up my data” and “Restore
  5. Tap “Factory data reset” > “Reset device
  6. Assuming that your phone is protected by a lock screen, enter your PIN/password to proceed
  7. Tap “Continue” > “Delete all

Factory Reset via Recovery:

NOTE: In case you are unable to reset the phone via Settings, alternatively you can try resetting the device from the Android Recovery menu which can be accessed by performing a combination of button presses.

  1. First turn the phone Off
  2. Then press and hold “Home”, “Volume Up” and “Power” at the same time
  3. At the “Android” logo, release all buttons and wait for the Recovery menu to appear
  4. Once in Recovery, press “Volume down” repeatedly to navigate to and highlight “wipe data / factory reset
  5. Press “Power” to confirm
  6. Press “Volume down” to highlight “Yes – delete all user data
  7. Press “Power” to select the option
  8. After the phone resets, highlight “Reboot system now” if necessary
  9. Press “Power” one last time to reboot your device

Check for OS Updates:

NOTE: Once you factory reset your device, it’s recommended to check if new software updates are available for download. To do this:

  1. Open the apps drawer
  2. Launch “Settings
  3. Scroll to and tap “About device
  4. Check if new updates are available, and if applicable, follow the on-screen prompts to apply any updates (NOTE: the update process will require at least one reboot)



See More: Samsung Galaxy Note FE: Factory Reset via Settings/Recovery; Check for OS Updates