Reset Network Settings:

NOTE: When resetting network settings, all saved Bluetooth and Wi-Fi connections will be deleted. In addition, data restrictive settings, background sync settings, and network selection mode will be switched to default.

  1. Launch “Settings
  2. Access “General Management
  3. Tap “Reset” > “Reset network settings
  4. If the phone is protected by a lock screen, enter your PIN/password to proceed
  5. Tap “Reset settings” when ready

Soft Reset via Hardware Keys:

NOTE: A soft reset simulates the removal of the battery, and this can be useful in cases when the phone is unresponsive. This method won’t delete any data stored on the phone.

  1. Press and hold “Power” and “Volume down” at the same time
  2. Keep the buttons pressed for up to 45 seconds
  3. After the phone finishes rebooting, release the buttons

Hard Reset

NOTE: Hard resetting the phone will result in the deletion of your personal data located on the phone’s internal memory, including ringtones, contacts, media files, contacts etc. In addition, all settings will be restored to factory values, however data located on the SIM and SD cards will not be affected.

Before resetting the phone, you can visit this thread for a guide on backing up data, and this thread for instructions on restoring data.

Hard Reset via Settings:

  1. Launch “Settings
  2. Access “Cloud and accounts” > “Backup and restore
  3. Optionally, turn “Restore” and “Back up my data” ON or OFF
  4. Return to “Settings
  5. Go to “General management” and tap “Reset” > “Factory data reset
  6. Tap “Reset device” and if necessary enter your lock screen PIN/password
  7. Tap “Continue” > “Delete all

Hard Reset via Recovery:

NOTE: If your device crashes, freezes, doesn’t work as intended and prevents you from resetting it via Settings, alternatively you can try resetting the device from the Recovery menu which can be accessed as follows:

  1. Turn the phone off if necessary
  2. Press and hold “Home” and “Volume Up” at the same time, then press and hold “Power” as well
  3. At the Android logo, release all the buttons and wait for access to Android Recovery
  4. While in Recovery, press “Volume down” repeatedly to navigate to and highlight “wipe data / factory reset
  5. Press “Power” to select the highlighted option
  6. Press “Volume down” to highlight “Yes – delete all user data
  7. Press “Power
  8. After the process is done, highlight “Reboot system now” and press “Power” again to confirm



See More: Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus: Soft Reset and Hard Reset via Settings or Android Recovery