Factory Reset

WARNING! When you factory reset your phone, all your personal data stored on the phone will be deleted, including media files, ringtones, contacts, apps, downloaded content etc. Additionally all settings will be restored to factory values, however data located on the SIM and SD cards won’t be affected.

Before you reset the phone, you can check this thread for a guide on how to back up app data, and this thread for instructions on restoring data.

Factory Reset via Settings:

  1. Launch “Settings
  2. Go to “Cloud and accounts
  3. Tap “Backup and restore
  4. Optionally, enable or disable “Back up my data” and “Restore
  5. Return to “Settings” and go to “General Management
  6. Tap “Reset” > “Factory data reset
  7. Tap “Reset” again and if your phone is protected by a lock screen, enter your password/PIN and tap “Continue”
  8. Tap “Delete all” to confirm

Factory Reset via Recovery:

NOTE: If your phone crashes, freezes, or otherwise prevents you from resetting it using the method above, alternatively you can try resetting the phone from Android Recovery.

  1. Turn the phone Off if necessary
  2. Press and hold “Volume Up” “Power” and the “Home” / “Bixby” buttons at the same time
  3. At the Android screen, release the keys and wait for Android Recovery
  4. Once in Recovery, press “Volume down” to navigate the menu and highlight “Wipe data/factory reset
  5. Press “Power” to select the highlighted option
  6. Then, highlight “Yes – delete all user data
  7. Press “Power” to select the option
  8. After the phone resets, highlight “Reboot system now” and press “Power” to confirm

Reset Network Settings:

NOTE: By resetting network settings, your saved Bluetooth and Wi-Fi connections will be deleted, while data restrictive settings, background sync settings, and network selection mode will be restored to factory values.

  1. Open “Settings
  2. Access “General Management
  3. Tap “Reset” > “Reset network settings
  4. If your device is protected by a lock screen, enter your PIN/password
  5. Tap “Reset settings



See More: Samsung Galaxy J7 Refine: Factory Reset via Settings/Recovery; Reset Network Settings