Factory Reset

WARNING! By factory resetting your phone, all of your personal data stored on the phone’s internal memory will be deleted, including media files, ringtones, contacts, downloads etc. Furthermore all settings will be restored to factory values but data located on the SD and SIM cards won’t be affected.

NOTE: Before you reset the phone, you can check this thread for a guide on how to back up app data, and this thread for a guide on restoring data.

Factory Reset via Settings:

  1. Open “Settings
  2. Access “Cloud and accounts
  3. Tap “Backup and restore
  4. Optionally, turn “Back up my data” and “Restore” ON or OFF
  5. Go back to “Settings” and access “General Management
  6. Tap “Reset” > “Factory data reset
  7. Tap “Reset” again and if your device is protected by a lock screen, enter your password/PIN
  8. Tap “Delete all” to confirm

Factory Reset via Recovery:

NOTE: If your phone prevents you from resetting via Settings, you can try resetting the device from Android Recovery.

  1. Turn the phone Off
  2. Press and hold “Home” “Power” and “Volume Up” simultaneously
  3. At the Android screen, release the buttons and wait for access to Android Recovery
  4. Press “Volume down” repeatedly to navigate the menu
  5. Highlight “Wipe data/factory reset
  6. Press “Power” to select the highlighted option
  7. Next highlight “Yes – delete all user data
  8. Press “Power” to confirm
  9. Highlight “Reboot system now” and press “Power

Reset Network Settings:

NOTE: When you reset network settings, all your saved Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connections will be deleted, while network selection mode, data restrictive settings, and background sync settings will be restored to factory values.

  1. Open “Settings
  2. Go to “General Management
  3. Tap “Reset” > “Reset network settings
  4. If your device is protected by a lock screen, enter your password/PIN to proceed
  5. When ready, tap “Reset settings



See More: Samsung Galaxy J4+: Factory Reset via Settings or Recovery, Reset Network Settings