Factory Reset

WARNING! When you factory reset your phone, all of your personal data stored on the device’s internal memory will be deleted, such as media files, ringtones, downloaded content ,contacts etc. In addition, all settings will be restored to factory values, but data located on the SIM and SD cards won’t be affected.

NOTE: Before factory resetting your phone, you can check this thread for a guide on how to back up data, and this thread for instructions on restoring data.

Factory Reset via Settings:

  1. Launch “Settings
  2. Go to “Cloud and accounts
  3. Tap “Backup and restore
  4. Optionally, enable or disable “Back up my data" and “Restore
  5. Return to “Settings
  6. Access “General Management
  7. Tap “Reset” > “Factory data reset
  8. Tap “Reset” again and if your phone is protected by a lock screen, enter your PIN/password
  9. When ready, tap “Delete all

Factory Reset via Recovery:

NOTE: If your device prevents you from resetting it via Settings, you can try resetting the phone from Android Recovery.

  1. Turn the phone Off if necessary
  2. Press and hold “Power” “Home” and “Volume Up” at the same time
  3. At the Android screen, release the keys and wait for access to Android Recovery
  4. Once there, press “Volume down” repeatedly to navigate the menu and highlight “Wipe data/factory reset
  5. Press “Power” to select the highlighted option
  6. Then highlight “Yes – delete all user data” and press “Power
  7. Lastly ensure “Reboot system now” is highlighted and press “Power

Reset Network Settings:

NOTE: When you reset network settings, all your saved Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connections will be deleted. Also data restrictive settings, network selection mode, and background sync settings will be restored to factory values.

  1. Launch “Settings
  2. Access “General Management
  3. Tap “Reset” > “Reset network settings
  4. If your phone is protected by a lock screen, enter the PIN/password to proceed
  5. Tap “Reset settings



See More: Samsung Galaxy J6+: Factory Reset via Settings or Recovery, Reset Network Settings