Factory Reset

WARNING! When factory resetting the phone, all of your personal data located on the device’s internal memory will be deleted, including ringtones, contacts, media files, downloads etc. In addition, all settings will be restored to factory values, however data located on the SIM and SD cards won’t be affected.

NOTE: Before resetting the phone, you can check this thread for instructions on backing up data, and this thread for a guide on restoring data.

Factory Reset via Settings:

  1. Launch “Settings
  2. Go to “Cloud and accounts” > “Backup and restore
  3. Optionally, enable or disable “Back up my data” and “Restore
  4. Return to “Settings” and go to “General Management
  5. Tap “Reset” > “Factory data reset
  6. Tap “Reset” again
  7. If your device is protected by a lock screen, enter your PIN/password to proceed
  8. Tap “Delete all” to confirm

Factory Reset via Recovery:

NOTE: If your device prevents you from resetting it via Settings, you can try resetting it using the method above via Android Recovery.

  1. Turn OFF the phone
  2. Press and hold “Power” “Volume Up” and the “Home”/”Bixby” button at the same time
  3. At the Android screen, release the buttons and wait to gain access to Android Recovery
  4. Once in the Recovery menu, press “Volume Down” repeatedly to navigate it and highlight “Wipe data/factory reset
  5. Press “Power” to select the highlighted option
  6. Nightlight “Yes – delete all user data” and press “Power
  7. Highlight “Reboot system now” and press “Power

Reset Network Settings:

NOTE: When resetting network settings, all your saved Bluetooth and Wi-Fi connections will be deleted. In addition, data restrictive settings, background sync settings, and network selection mode will be restored to factory values.

  1. Launch “Settings
  2. Access “General Management
  3. Tap “Reset” > “Reset network settings
  4. If your phone is protected by a lock screen, enter your PIN/password to proceed
  5. Tap “Reset settings” to confirm



See More: Samsung Galaxy A8s: Factory Reset and Reset Network Settings