Factory Reset

WARNING! By factory resetting your phone, you will delete all the data located on the phone’s internal memory, including custom ringtones and media files, downloaded content, contacts etc. Additionally, all settings will be restored to factory values but data located on the SIM card and SD storage won’t be affected.

NOTE: Before resetting the phone, you can check this thread for a guide on how to back up data and this thread for a guide on restoring data.

Factory Reset via Settings:

  1. Open “Settings” and go to “Cloud and account
  2. Tap “Backup and restore
  3. Optionally, enable or disable “Back up my data” and “Restore
  4. Return to “Settings” and tap “General Management” > “Reset
  5. Tap “Factory data reset” > “Reset
  6. If your device is protected by a lock screen, enter your PIN/password
  7. Tap “Delete all

Factory Reset via Recovery:

NOTE: If your phone prevents you from resetting it using the method above, you can try resetting the device via Android Recovery.

  1. Turn the phone off, then press “Power” “Volume UP” and the “Bixby” / “Home” buttons simultaneously
  2. At the Android screen, release the buttons and wait for the device to boot to Recovery
  3. Once in Recovery, press “Volume down” repeatedly to navigate the menu and highlight “Wipe data/factory reset
  4. Press “Power” to select the highlighted option
  5. Next highlight “Yes – delete all user data” and press “Power
  6. Highlight “Reboot system now” and press “Power

Reset Network Settings:

NOTE: By resetting network settings, you will delete all of your saved Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connections. In addition, data restrictive settings, network selection mode, and background sync settings will be restored to default.

  1. Launch “Settings
  2. Access “General Management” and tap “Reset
  3. Tap “Reset network settings
  4. Enter your lock screen PIN/password if necessary
  5. Tap “Reset settings” to confirm



See More: Samsung Galaxy M10: Factory Reset the Phone and Reset Network Settings