Factory Reset

WARNING! When you factory reset the phone, you delete all of the personal data located on the phone’s internal memory, including downloaded content, contacts, media files etc. Additionally, all settings will be restored to factory values but data located on the SIM card and SD storage won’t be affected.

NOTE: Before resetting the device, you can check this thread for a guide on how to back up data, and this thread for a guide on restoring data.

Factory Reset via Settings:

  1. Open “Settings” and go to “Cloud and account
  2. Tap “Backup & Restore
  3. Optionally, enable or disable “Back up my data” and “Restore
  4. Go back to “Settings” and access “General Management
  5. Tap “Reset” > “Factory data reset” > “Reset
  6. If your phone is protected by a lock screen, enter your PIN/ password
  7. Tap “Delete all” to confirm

Factory Reset via Android Recovery:

NOTE: If your phone prevents you from resetting it using the method above, you can try resetting it from Android Recovery.

  1. Turn the phone off
  2. Press and hold “Power” “Volume Up” and the “Home” or “Bixby” button simultaneously
  3. Release the keys at the Android screen and wait for access to Recovery
  4. Press “Volume Down” repeatedly to navigate the menu and highlight “Wipe data/factory reset
  5. Press “Power” to select the highlight
  6. Then highlight “Yes – delete all user data” and press “Power” to confirm
  7. Once done, ensure “Reboot system now” is highlighted and press “Power

Reset Network Settings:

NOTE: By resetting network settings, all of your saved Bluetooth and Wi-Fi connections will be deleted. Additionally, data restrictive settings, background sync settings, and network selection mode will be restored to default values.

  1. Launch “Settings
  2. Access “General Management
  3. Tap “Reset
  4. Tap “Reset network settings
  5. Enter your lock screen PIN/password if necessary
  6. Tap “Reset Settings” to confirm



See More: Samsung Galaxy M20: Factory Reset the Device and Reset the Network Settings